Day 4 Poggio Civitate 2007

Day 4 25.6.07

Was assigned to trench CC7 (Karen and Jack). This is a test trench down the hill. We picked about 3 times. We found a lot of medieval glazed pottery some with a green and white patter. I found a lip of a storage vessel that was coiled.

Also Jack found a pottery “spread.” it was some thick coarse-ware lips and bodies and then this one almost intact pot of fine-ware, it was white and patsy in color. The inner had not been fired through all the way. We have a good portion of sides and some possible lip fragments. There is a good chance of restoring a lot of it. It could be a small aryballos or trefoil oinochoe, or a regular oinochoe.

IMG_20200429_152137

About handyatmurlo

This journal has evolved from a blog about my archaeology days in Italy to my travels in the world with my wife. I am a Latin and Social Studies teacher at St. Columba School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder, my teaching certificate from Fort Lewis College and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2007 Season and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment