Poggio Civitate 2007!

As you are reading this, it is the middle of the pandemic and stay at home orders. Which means I haven’t been traveling a lot but instead I’ve been doing deep cleans of random boxes. In one of them I discovered my written journal from my first season at Poggio Civitate Field School, an archaeology site in Tuscany Italy, just south of Siena.

Since most field schools will be closed this summer due to the pandemic and since I’ve been just sitting around the home, I figured why not transcribe my old note book. So for the next month I will be posting my journal from 2007.

It will mostly be boring and most of this is for my own enjoyment but why not share it with you all (if you care).

So let’s go back to a quieter time when my liver was stronger and my beard shorter!

IMG_20200429_142331

Cheers,
Handy 

About handyatmurlo

This journal has evolved from a blog about my archaeology days in Italy to my travels in the world with my wife. I am a Latin and Social Studies teacher at St. Columba School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder, my teaching certificate from Fort Lewis College and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2007 Season and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment