Roma- with 100% more passports!

So I left off with Sara getting an upgrade for our hotel. That night we walked down to Campo di Fiori to get dinner at Open Baladin, where Sara made another friend. We wandered back via the Imperial Fora. The following morning we rose early to beat the heat and visited the Roman Forum and Palatine hill. Sara made me focus my knowledge for this tour, which was great, I’ve never been forced to do that before (most of the time my audience are students and they have to listen to me). I really thought about how much better tours could be with a little more training (maybe in a national park…).

We then had lunch in a Carrefour and taxied over to our next AirBnB with my fellow classmates in a convent (a nun who spoke no English showed me my room). Then we were off again to the Colosseum to visit it in the final hour before they closed. It was such a pleasant way to view it, very few people, lots of shade and places to just sit and think. We saw a pair of men tailed by police and a new exhibit on the second floor of post-Roman illustrations of the Colosseum. Then after a tense moment looking for a restaurant (the one we wanted had no outside seating) we ate dinner and then walked up to our AirBnB. We stopped in a piazza which was showing a movie with Italian subtitles (it was Paths of Glory with Krik Douglas playing a French officer in WWI).

The next morning (Monday), I started class. And again that will be a good place to leave it for now. I’ll update you on what I’m learning later tomorrow.

 

Ciao for now from Sara and I!

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in General Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

