Creativity

I was beating myself up this summer for not writing more on this blog. I just couldn’t bring myself to do it even when I wasn’t dead on my feet (which actually was a lot of the time). Towards the end after many people left and the Internet was a little faster again, I started to play catch up with websites that I normally read throughout the year. I read a post about creativity by the Oatmeal. At the time I laughed at his jokes and thought this must be how the creative people do things, but really didn’t fully appreciate it.

See, I really don’t see myself as the creative type and thought I would never get that worn out. But then I went on a retreat before school started last week and was walking around the gardens and wetlands of Hudson Gardens and suddenly all these thoughts and ideas came flooding in (okay for me the flood was two posts and a few ideas for more, but hey I take what I can get).

Now I am starting to understand the comic more. Even data creation (or excavating) is a form of ‘exhaling’ and I really need to remember to inhale more and recharge. It isn’t something we push while digging, the whole idea of stopping to breath in. Really I wish I had done it more. It can be a new lesson in trench master training: let your creativity breath or you’ll suffocate yourself and become a huge ass.

Cheers

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2016 Season, archaeology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

