Buda Hill

I know my travelogue from Italy was lacking (sorry, hopefully I can get some pictures posted later). But I am in Budapest right now and on vacation so I have some time to sit and write (and lord knows if I don’t take time here I won’t have time at school).

Today my friend Konstantina and I walked around the south side of Budapest in the area of Buda. It was hilly (but nothing like Tuscany so I was prepared). We rode the funicular car up to Buda Castle and walked around the grounds there. In the gallery was a Picasso exhibit that we visited. It was actually the first time I have seen any Picasso’s not in a book and it was wonderful. They did a great job of presenting the artist and his methods and I was able to walk away with a better appreciation of him as an artist. Although the museum was clearly in the old school style of stand away from the art and be quiet unlike the museum hack idea of interacting with your art (which I really ascribe to in the museum world). But it was still a well laid out exhibit and has wonderful panels to help guide you through the art.

Then we walked around and found Matthias Church and the Fishermen’s Bastion. They were both wonderful. Matthias’ church was fantastic! It was a catholic church with heavy eastern influences, there was so much painting on the inside. It was beautiful and they had great little stands that explained the different parts of the church which was so nice having come from Italy where even the big churches have almost no education panels. They also had a lovely little museum talking about the refurbishment in the 19th century and the coronation of the last king of Hungary.

2016-08-08 13.10.18.jpg

Inside of Matthias’ Church

Then we went outside and walking around the Fishermen’s Bastion (which is above) which offers wonderful views over Pest and up and down the hillside. It was a really beautiful limestone neoclassical structure but I don’t know much about it. However after lunch (goulash and beer) we stumbled into a bookstore (dangerous grounds for us both) and I found a book in English about the Bastion so I will know more later tonight.

But now that my postcards are written and my feet are rested it is time to head out again and find dinner and other sites in Budapest!

Till tomorrow

 

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in General Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

