Rain day update

Well the rain has returned to  Tuscany, hopefully it will not be like last summer and the rain will go away soon. Because of that we had a weird schedule today. Normally we eat breakfast and get to site around 8. Then we work from 8-12 in trenches afterwards we go down to the magazzino and museum to wash or dry brush the finds from the last few days. Then we get lunch and return to the hill by 2 and work till 5.

Today we went to site at 8 but found it too wet so Jay had his trench photographed and 3d modeled. Then we went home for a short while to figure out who would return to the site. I was on who went back and helped measure finds. While doing that I was asked by Darby to return to the cistern to help excavate a trench there. It is a pretty cool project, we are investigating what happened under a hole in the roof of the cistern. Right now we are just digging in erosional fill, but it is all the erosion from the rooms in the baths above so we are finding an interesting mix of modern, medieval, and ancient stuff. For instance in the same shovel full there was a piece of modern beer bottle and the nozzle of a Roman lamp.

We did that for only an hour (mostly because the clouds kept shifting and Darby, who is an older man, couldn’t see as well. After that it was back to cleaning and bagging. I ended the afternoon counting pottery right before a second wave of storms hit us. I was dumping out tile on the hill when the first clap of lighting struck, don’t worry mom it didn’t hit me.

With the extra time this afternoon Jay and I got new SIM cards for our wireless routers and also took pictures of the old abandoned dynamite factory in Orbetello (once a major employer in the area, now a huge expanse of empty buildings).

Fingers crossed we can work normally tomorrow!

Ciao for now.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2015 Season and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rain day update

  1. Patricia Carroll says:

    Thank you for your reassuring updates! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

