Travel to Ablinia

Who knew I needed to leave Colorado to find sunshine. It has been great weather out here.

Well another successful trip has been made to Italy. The flights over were tolerable with a decent meal being offered on my delta flight. Nothing too exciting happened, I was unable to sleep and so I ended up catching up on some of last year’s movies. After landing in Rome early I was quickly greeted by the cultural normal of laziness. We were quickly passed through passport control without even opening my passport. National security at its best. I waited the airport for a while for my friend Nora to land as well. We meet up at took the train to Albinia, the town we are staying in. It was nice, since for the last feel years I have driven, and I really forgot how connected this country is to its food supply. Many of the fields are in production here in between the towns. It is something you miss in the U.S. outside of the Midwest.

Once we got to Albinia, we walked over to where we would be staying. Unfortunately, the person who was supposed to pick us up did not get my email about time. Luckily I have been to the Torre delle Saline before so it was no problem finding the place.

Albinia is a small town, although it is bigger than Vescovado where I will be spending the rest of my summer. Albinia has a main road with most of its restaurants and shops along there. There were 5-6 restaurants and a bunch of little shops. It is right on the SS1 Aurleiana, the main road running along coast from Rome north. It is built over the old Via Aurelia built by the Romans during their conquest of Etruria.

After walking around town I wondered down to the beach and then south along one of the spits that border the Orbetello Lagoon. Tomorrow we start laying out the trenches and I am excited for that. I can’t wait to get working and learn how this new project works.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2015 Season and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

