Field School Wrap Up

Well the books are complete, the magazzino cleaned and shut down, the studenti are all gone and I just finished an abstract. I had thought about writing a post from my weekend in Siena last weekend but it would be redundant. Siena is amazing and I have written about that already. If there is a place in which I would be forced to live forever I would pick Siena. All I did was pick up gifts, visit my favorite piazzas, and enjoy a couple of cups of great coffee. Instead since the dig is complete, the trenches are back filled and the database will be updated soon I figured I can talk about some of the things we uncovered this year.

The biggest piece of news is we found a wall. Now I know that last summer we also found walls but this is a large robust wall with stone courses! It was really amazing. During the first part of the summer, we had assumed that we had come down on a bedrock packing (it was near impossible to pick through). We at first decided to focus on a smaller area of the trench. And on one of the few days I could dig in that part, we found a neonate arm bone, the first to be excavated in a controlled context from our site (maybe even in all of Etruscan Italy). I have Sarah K. to thank in my identification of this since she taught me what human bones look like. After find the bone we expanded the trench to understand what we thought was a lens but after a few days of excavating (mostly due to the rain) we found that the stones in my trench were not part of a lens but we rising perpendicular out of the soil. During this time I found my second baby humerus (different smaller kid).

As of right now there is not much more that I can say about what happened except that we have a robust wall that may have held a terracotta roof. We do not know a date, or the extent of the walls, or the function of the building but it is there and we will continue to excavate in the area to further understand it. The database will be updated soon and you can look at the bone fragments there (poggiocivitate.classics.umass.edu) and a site report will be posted here soon (http://bit.ly/XsQM2l).

But over all this summer was a great one. I had a successful high school program, we found in a secure context infant bones, and we have a new wall the further explore. I should be packing and getting ready to leave. I might make a post in Ireland but we will see.

Ciao for now.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2014 Season and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

