3 days full of Etruscan sites

This post will be a little more travel log like/ report for my mother. I will try to squeeze in a report on the trench next free moment, but like I said rain is really screwing with us. Two weekends ago we have our three day weekend. Some traditions are hard to break, even with all the rain delays we still had the extra day off. Oh well, I am several staff members put it to good use. We rented a car and took off north.

We stopped off at Verucchio, a medieval town that houses a museum full of Iron Age Etruscan (or Villanovan if you are using the old naming system) finds. The site we water logged and so a lot of organics that decay quickly else where were persevered here. There was a ton of amber, the Verucchio throne, an linen, in addition to lots of biconical urns. Ann Glennie and I did a collaborative video about Iron Age Etruria and she wrote about the finds from here, you can view it here: http://youtu.be/Pq4EbEl65gA?list=UUjTdM_Rx5sW0sxpW-HJ77eA

After a quick lunch we headed north to Bologna to the museum there. Needless to say it was amazing and overwhelming. There was just sooo much stuff. It was a museum still very much like the old antiquarian curiosity rooms. We saw the tintinnabulum with the scene of weaving on it along with so many statues, pots, and urns. After that we needed a break so we went out and walked through the city. We had a lovely (if warm) dinner and then successfully navigated the bus system to our hotel.

The next day we headed south to Marzobotto, a planned Etruscan city. It was really small but that was good so we could see the whole town and the museum. Bonnie was even hit on by some “Etruscans”. We then drove south to the Arezzo Museum since several people had not been there before. It was great for me because we were able to walk in the amphitheater that the museum is built on.

Monday morning we took off for the Maremma, costal Tuscany. Ann has dug with me for 8 summers and just last year started work at Cosa a Roman site. We stopped there to see her work and also in the city of Pitigliano, which had a museum open on a Monday (most are closed then so it is always hard to find a place to go then).

Over all it was a successful weekend full of Etruscans, Italians, and Friends. Well it is raining again here and I need to get some things together before dinner. Maybe I will get my next two posts up before I leave. Ciao!

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2014 Season and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

