The itsy bitsy spider…

…Would not being doing well this summer in Tuscany. Today started off great and alas was another wash in the end. Finally after not working in my trench for two workdays and the weekend I was able to start excavating again. We cleaned the floor of the trench and declared a new locus (exciting stuff I assure you, no really this is not sarcasm) and we got through 10-15 cm of soil in the new locus then BOOM rain again. A lot of rain, enough rain to soak me to the bone (and it was not help that there was a miscommunication about a car ride off the hill and the subsequent walk in the rain).

We were not finding a lot in the trench which is okay, we are actually tracing the slope of some large rocks and I did not expect a lot but it would be nice to finish. I expect that I have another good full day of work ahead of me, at most 2 but with all this rain, oi! It will be next July before I finish.

We really need to start learning how to dig like the English do to keep working in Tuscany. This is not a place to argue climate change, but if someone asked me to show them how the earths climate is changing I would point to the Tuscan summers and how wet they have become. Hopefully tomorrow will be better.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2014 Season and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

