Chianciano Terme and too much rain

Well I haven’t touched my trench since Wednesday because of all the rain here but I was able to get out to a new museum this weekend. So while this wont talk about the excavations it is a museum review.

Saturday several of us from the dig jumped in a car and drove south to Chianciano Terme to visit the museum there. Chianciano is better known for its Roman thermal baths there, but they still had an Etruscan occupation period. The museum was a good one with a lot of artifacts even if some of the explanations were too simple or really misguided. The top floor has a lot of the finds from the Roman bath and a weird display on Etruscan dining. The 1st floor (what would be 2nd in the states but in Italy floors don’t start until you walk up a set of stairs) there were a lot of bronze fragments from the Temple of Selene and the terracotta fragments from the temple at I Fucoli. They also showed the finds from a local farm and even rebuilt some of the walls (Dan was really excited for the wattle and daub). This was awesome seeing all the bronze pieces. The ground floor shows the excavations from Tolle and the princely tomb found there. The basement was full of Iron age burials and a misguided attempt to explain who Etruscan women were. They used too much Greek information to talk about the Etruscan women.
Overall I loved the museum and was glad I made it, although it wouldn’t be worth the taxi fare if you did not have a car however if you do I say check it out when you are at Chiusi.

To be more personal for a moment, last night was awesome. After we got home from Chianciano, we stopped at the COOP and got food and drink for dinner. Eoin made lamb, Kate made a tomato and arugula salad and I made ribs. Steve mixed us gin and tonics and Beth made here Peanut Butter Cheese cake filling to have with cookies. It was an awesome meal and just a very relaxed evening. Today has been full of reading and research and a little catch up from the high school program. Now I am ready for a good meal and a good game for the world cup final (and hopefully a dry day to excavate).

 

Also just found out there was a scheduled train strike and 23 students are stuck in Perguia. They will be fine (the train will run tomorrow) but they won’t be on site to work. It will be an interesting day rain or no rain.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2014 Season and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

