Rain, rain, please just stop

Well it has rained again and we are currently waiting to see if anything dries enough to allow for digging. That being said it gives me time to write somethings about my trench today.

Just a nota bene these are all initial thoughts and subject to change, most likely often and drastically. There will be a field report at the end of the season which will have the final finds and theories from our season. I will be sure to link that here when it is done.

When the high school students left we had just finished clearing the top soil and discovered that one half of the trench was rockier than the other, so we excavated the two halves separately- so far our hypothesis is holding true. One half of the trench is really rocky (maybe enough to be a natural outcropping of the hill) while the other part has a lot of soil most likely held in place by roots of a large tree south of me. My trench is at the top of a small slope next to Piano del Tesoro so the fact that a lot of rocks are near the surface is not weird. In the other half of the trench we have not found much of anything. If you look at the finds from 2012/2013 you will see that we have a lot of production material, however besides a few pieces of worn tile and some pottery not much is coming up. We do have some large fragments of animal bones (pigs, sheep, cows so far, but Dr. Kansa will have more detailed information on that later I am sure) and they don’t tell us much more than what we already knew- they eat animals on Poggio Civitate and throw away the bones.

Right now we are working on the eastern meter of the trench to try and understand the entire vertical extent of the trench and hopefully the rain will not slow us down much more. I will try to keep everyone updated as work continues. Please everyone do their anti-rain dance.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2014 Season and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

