Archaeology for the Youth

If you read this blog there is a good chance you have already heard about my summer plans, if you haven’t yet here they are. I will be leading a group of 4 high school students to Italy to participate on the Poggio Civitate Archaeological Project. Poggio Civitate is an Etruscan site 25 kilometers south of Siena dating to the 7th and 6th centuries BCE.

I am here asking for your help to support this project. Go to www.GoFundMe.com/7a1v1o to support high school students becoming involved in archaeology and turning into life long supporters of the discipline. If you cannot donate a dollar then at least share my message with the rest of the cyber-world.

The students will spend the first four and half days of the program visiting museums and archaeological parks in Tuscany at Chiusi, Florence, Siena, and Grosseto to become familiar with the Etruscan civilization and the material culture of this area. The following week I will instruct the students to excavate in the field alongside the regular field school team as they learn proper archaeological excavation techniques. The final day will be spent visiting major archaeological sites in Rome to provide a broader historical context of the area. This program is designed to expose students to the field of Etruscan studies by immersing them in the history and culture of ancient Italy. By both visiting and working at historical sites these students will gain an appreciation for the Etruscan civilizations, an important part of the history of the early Mediterranean basin.

I am particularly excited about this program because traveling to Italy was what started me on my own path towards studying Classics in college and becoming a Latin teacher and archaeologist. I am hoping that this project will become the inspiration for these students to also continue on their own Classically inspired paths. Thanks for helping the project come to fruition.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2014 Season and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

