Traveling Home- Last Day

Well, I am back in the USA now (I post this so my family who reads this will know I’m safe…and don’t worry I called my mom). I still want to do a reflection post but for now a quick summary of the travel will have to do.

Two last things about my Caye Cauker Day. At the end of our second dive, I surfaced to the question of where is the first aid kit. Not a thing I want to hear. One of our students got too close to the reef and a wave came and he bashed his knee on the reef and got a pretty good gash. Thanks to Scouts and the outing club at UMass, I was able to patch him up pretty well. The other thing came from the end of the day when I was showering. As I reached for my towel I discovered a little lizard behind the curtain who took a shower with me. I was able to catch him and let him go in the yard.

After a great day on Caye Cauker, we were treated to a late morning. To bad the toilet kept running and that meant the pump outside my room was also running, so I got up at 5:30. The boys wanted to see a sun rise so we walked out to the dock, but alas the clouds prevented that from happening. 

James and Beto drove us to the airport, where I was able to get another snowglobe for my sister and we were able to check in no problem. Our flight from Belize to Huston was uneventful (except for the guy next to me wearing too much cologne). In Huston it took some time to get through customs but we made it and had a late lunch there. It was really jarring to see the airport since the airport in Belize is so small (6 gates) and some of the towns we stopped in were smaller than Huston. All the teachers agreed that if we brought some of the people we helped to America they would shit themselves with all the shops and lights there.

At last we made it onto the flight back to Denver. The students had some really heartfelt conversations on the flight back and it was great to see how much they have grown. The kids had a welcoming crew back in DIA and after getting out bags everyone was off to their own homes and beds.

That is all for this trip, but like I said once I have time to think and write a little more I will post a reflection about my time in Belize.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in Belize and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

