Rain Rain go away- Day 8

Well Chaac wasn’t appeased since it rained most of the day nevertheless we finished building the house.

All we had left was a lot of trim work and the bathroom to build with the house and also the rest of the septic tank. Matt, a student, and I spent most of the day working on the tank. Miraculously we made it to the work site before 9:00 am and found the tank with an inch of water in the bottom (I guess the bottom holds water). We spent the morning mixing cement and pouring it in between the cinder blocks. We then had to move the tent over the tank to let it dry out a little so we could plaster the inside. After lunch we bilged the water and then mixed the plaster in the tank itself. Alfonso showed us how to plaster the inside by slapping the concrete mixture along the inside wall although Alfonso kicked our ass with it.

I plastered the outside of the tank with Frank. Then we had to wait since we had run out of some lumber and sand. After Beto came back with the supplies, we were able to wrap up the house quickly. We finished mixing the cement for the top of the tank and laid the shower floor. It was a great day, even if it was a little damp.

Tomorrow will be the blessing and a visit to the prison.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in Belize and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

