Un-Belize-able

Day 1

Surprise, surprise it is a mid-year post. You might be asking, what is (h)Andy doing posting in January in his Italian blog, well today I traveled to Belize via Huston to chaperone a boys division service trip with Regis Jesuit High School. Now I know this blog was started for my adventures and work in Italy but I figure why not expand it to all my international travels (and I also have to carry the group computer so I figure heck, why not use it). The flights down here were uneventful (I had the middle seat) and I got to read about Mesoamerican culture (thanks to Bonnie). After clearing customs (which is just as slow as Rome) we met our ride from the airport. A van and pick up truck from Trinidad farms took us and our stuff to the farm. The weather was overcast but the countryside is still a very vibrant green and the town we drove through was just as you would have seen in the introduction to a kayaking video. We drove by different markets and food stands, brightly colored buildings, broken down cars being used as lawn ornaments, lots of people riding the bus and bicycles, a lots of marsh land. Trinidad farm is a retreat house used by the Jesuits here in Belize City. Three local women prepared dinner for us, which comprised of rice and beans (which is different from beans and rice), chicken, fried plantains, potato salad, and a homemade salsa, which was amazingly hot but good. We also has a marshmallow and whipcream dessert. Antonio, one of my co-teachers who has been to Belize 7 times said it is a real treat to get a dessert as most people do not make that with their meals. There was also amazing slices of a citrus fruit, maybe a tangelo. Whatever it was it was good. After we cleaned up dinner we played cards with the boys. Tomorrow we will take a bus down to Punta Gorda, I will have a separate post about that.

Ciao Ciao.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in Belize and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

