A bus ride to PG- Day 2

Day 2

I woke up to the sound of a pump and snoring (I guess I am becoming a lighter sleeper). It had rained overnight so everything was still gray and wet (as most of the day would prove to be. After a cold Navy shower, the cooks came back to make us breakfast: Fry Jacks (which is fried dough), beans, more of the homemade hot salsa, and fresh fruit (pineapple, papaya, and oranges). After breakfast we found out that our bus was delayed by an hour and a half so I took a nap and the boys played cards. Eventually I woke up and about a half hour later our bus came. The first one broke down so the drivers needed to get a second one. Elliott was our driver, a very nice Belizian from PG. He showed us a lot of awesome sights along the way. We set off from Belize City and headed southwest to Belmopan, the capital, where we saw the US Embassy (the largest and most well fortified, figures) and then a lot of the Belizean governmental buildings. We had lunch at a pizza joint in town and then headed southeast along the Hummingbird highway. While we did not see any of the roads namesake (and I should pause for a moment to say highway is a generous term) we did see a lot of wicked cool vistas and spots along the road. It is a highway that runs through the mountain and so there are amazingly lush green rainforests, expansive orange and banana farms, and small humble communities all along the way. We stopped to look at a waterfall careening out of the jungle, we bought ice cream from an Amish dairy farm (I had strawberry, which was fantastic), and we made an old Guatemalan woman’s day by purchasing 5 pineapples from here stand.  We also stopped on this one part of the highway that if you put your car/bus in neutral the gravitational pull will drag you slowly up hill. We did it twice since the boys did not believe it.  Skip the next paragraph if you aren’t looking to be saddened today.

This next part is a bummer, we unfortunately hit and killed a stray dog; our bus driver was trying to avoid it and some children but couldn’t do both. However, not that this makes it any less tragic, the stray dog population down here is out of control (remember spay and neuter as Bob Barker would say), so to the bus driver it was the equivalent of us hitting a squirrel.

After that little shock we finally made it to PG where we put our luggage into our rooms at Nature’s Way and then did a walking tour of the town. It is very similar to Vescovado (I can see why I may have been asked to help now). The town has a few main streets and several shops along them and not much else. We saw the Jesuit school and the church, and also walked down to the water. Finally for dinner we had Chinese food. I know, not very Belizean but it was interesting. I was listening to a TED talk not to long ago that talked about Chinese food in different locations and how in China they don’t have fortune cookies, and in Italy they always have fried gelato. Well in Belize there is a lot more seafood in the mixture and I had fried rice with conch (a gigantic type of sea snail which is textures like calamari, cue the Doppelgangers episode of “This American Life”, http://bit.ly/1hlEiRz). It was good. At the end we came back and talked to the boys and had them journal (it was during that time that I got the internet working and posted Day 1). Now I am just finishing this up before sleep.

I can’t wait to start work tomorrow morning.

Ciao for now.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in Belize and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

