Final Weekend

So after a whirlwind of a week with visits from Italian officials, finishing documentation, back filling, student dinner, staff dinner, and taking apart the magazzino, it was all over but the traveling. Nora and I were tasked with taking some equipment back to Massachusetts so Tony gave us (and Bonnie) a ride to the Siena train station. After saying good bye, Bonnie and I boarded a train to Grosseto where we had a lovely 2 and 3/4 hour layover because of some train delays north of the city. We finally got on a train headed for Rome and made it to Roma Ostiense where we meet up with Suzy and Karen who had already made it to Rome. Karen rented the hotel room which was really a room in a converted apartment but it had AC and internet and was a 5 minute walk from Eataly so it was awesome.

We ate Dinner (and then lunch the next day) at Eataly which is a wholefoods like supermarket + restaurant spread over 4 floors. They divide the restaurant up into areas like Carne and Pesce and fritta and birra, and it is awesome. For dinner we had fritta mixta di mare (mixed fried things from the sea). For lunch the next day I had pork ribs with roasted potatoes which were so juicy.

Saturday we just stayed in and watched tv and Karen re-pack (she did it the first time drunk so there was some shifting that needed to happen).

Sunday we got up early and headed to the site of Ostia. This was my 3rd time going there but it was still sweet nonetheless, I actually like Ostia more than Pompeii. Buildings are better preserved there and you get to walk through a lot more of them. And even though I had been there already, I still got to see new things (like the imperial villa and the house of the well, and the mosaic room in the museum). It was awesome, but after a morning and early afternoon of walking around a site in near 37 C weather (around 100 F), we headed back and got some lunch.

After a quick shower, Bonnie and I were on our way to meet up with some people from the dig in the center of Rome for Paige’s birthday dinner. We walked around for a little bit (Paige hadn’t seen either of the columns (Marcus Aurelius’ or Trajan’s) so I made sure she saw them. We also walked along the river market and all over the place generally, but we finally had dinner at Ba” Ghetto (I guess people were ready to kill me for food, I didn’t realize they were so hungry). But after food and gelato we said our good byes and Bonnie and I took the metro back to the hotel.

The next morning a car service came and drove us to the airport (it was 15 euros a person, which is just as much as the Leonardo da Vinci express but we got dropped at our terminals) and after going through several painfully inefficient lines I made it to my gate. Karen was in the same terminal and she just made it (her lines I guess were more inefficient) but we said our goodbyes and I got on my flight.

Now I am safely home in Franklin washing laundry and re-packing for my flight tonight to Colorado. It was a great summer and I am so luck to have been able to gone again. Maybe next week after the business of moving, school, and brewery things settle I will write up a post about what we found this summer (it will also give Tony time to maybe update the website with the artifacts). But till then, Ciao!

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2013 Season and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

