It is like I never left- PC Week 1

Image

Well I found out this post didn’t actually keep the text. That is bummer since it was a really good post with links and everything and now you will just get the abbreviated version.

Once I got to Vescovaodo I had several days of work here. Friday we de-molded (muffa) the Magazzino (store rooms). Saturday we spent a half-day on the site using the transit to set up the trench walls. Sunday I went to Florence with a group of fellow excavators for a symposium honoring Nancy de Grummund from FSU (a big name is Etruscan studies). I really liked the paper done by Don Davis (on experimental pottery) and Gretchen Meyers (on weaving). Monday was a day getting things unpacked and organized. Tuesday we de-back filled the trenches from last summer since we are working right next to them. Wednesday was introduction day to the students and chain sawing some of the trees down from the area we are digging in (we ran out of oil so it was only an hour). Thursday we cleared the rest of the area of brush and chainsawed the rest of the trees. Friday we started excavating and were doing really well until a thunderstorm hit and we called it a half day. The weekend was very relaxing, I read most of Saturday and on Sunday I built a sieve.

Well I hope this posts, next time I will write a post in word so it will not be as big a pain to re-post. Sorry

 

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2013 Season and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

