Traveling to Italy

Well it took some time but I have finally made it to Vescovado di Murlo where I will be spending the next 6 weeks.

My flights were all delayed in the states because of storms in the Philadelphia and Boston area. But it turned out to be a fortuitous thing in the end since the delays placed the plane above St. John’s island while it was experiencing a lighting storm. I’ve never seen one from above and thankfully it was many miles away but it was a beautiful sight seeing the lighting flash in the clouds.

After I landed and cruised through passport control, I meet up with Ryan B and Nathan of Arch Areial LLC (https://www.facebook.com/archaerial?directed_target_id=0). Ryan and I have dug together for a few summers now and this summer he is working on recording different sites from the sky. They are doing very cool things with RC helicopters, hopefully we will have some cool aerial photos at the end of the summer.

They were travelling to the town of Blera to work with another colleague of mine Fredrick T. Freddy is a Swede getting his PhD at the site of San Giovenale. It was the fast time for me from getting off a plane and on to an archaeological site. Freddy was kind enough to give us a tour of the site and talk about what he is doing there.

After the tour and some much needed coffee, the group of us (including Eoin, an Irish man) had dinner in the town of Blera with some local ex-pats. It was an interesting mixture of Danish, Norwegian, Italian, Swiss, and English being thrown around the table that night.

The next morning Ryan, Freddy, Nathan, and I spent the morning going from store to store to find parts needed to get the helicopter’s battery charger working. After almost giving up, we finally found a computer repair store that had the parts needed to make everything work. Unfortunately for me, by the time we did all this and were ready to go to the site, Theresa and Kate were on their way from the airport to pick me up and drive up to Vescovado.

Not much has changed in the town, there is a new bar and the rosemary bushes outside our kitchen were cut down but other than that things are pretty much the same.  I’ll get another post up soon about getting things ready for the season and the conference I got to attend yesterday. Until then, Ciao!

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2013 Season and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

