Obligatory First Post

Hello Again,

Well the graduation for my first group of Latin students is over and my friends Eric & Kayla are married, all that is left to do is pack and get the blog up and running. So here I am dusting her off and getting ready for another summer working on an archaeological excavation. This will be year number 7 for me at Poggio Civitate, in Murlo Italy. It is really amazing how time has flown by, tempus fugit as they say.

Just a note about the subjects of this blog. It started as a way for me to communicate with my relatives about what I was doing in Italy. Of course it leaked out and friends found it and now my audience has grown since then, but the idea is still the same. I talk about things that are going on with the site and the local area. Sometimes I get very technical, other times it is more touristy. If you want to find a blog that is very academic about archaeology I recommend visiting my colleague, Lucy S., and her blog. She is a British PhD student and writes a fantastic blog which hits more of the academic side of archaeology: http://potsplacesstonesbones.blogspot.co.uk/

This year I will be in Italy from June 18 till August 5 and posting about once a week. So look for some amazing posts about transiting and cleaning pottery and eating amazing food in the coming weeks.  Ciao

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2013 Season and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Obligatory First Post

  1. Aw Handy, thanks so much for your kind words 🙂

Leave a Reply

