Poggio Civitate Week 4

Well we are 4 weeks in and only 2 left, then it is back to the real world and work.

This week was more of the same, dig fast, look out of features in the soil, repeat. It was really unexciting. I found galestra in half of my trench and not much in the other part.  The galestra most likely means it is sterile or untouched by human hands (although I still need to dig it up to be sure). This upcoming week will involve leveling the trench and cleaning up the last bits of soil on the slope in my trench.

 

Wednesday was a soccer game of Staff v. Students. We won 1-0. I had some amazing saves in goal (it was a good thing I didn’t warm up before hand since the students had no idea how bad a goalie I am).

 

This weekend was also 3 day weekend, and it came a perfect time since I was fried by Friday. The students left and the staff drank. Really after being here for 6 summers, you get tired of doing all the touristy things and would rather spend and evening of toasting with your friends.  Although that doesn’t mean I just stay in all weekend. On Saturday I went with Kate, T, and a car full of other Scavi people down to Sarteano near Chiusi and Chianciano Terme so see the tombs and museum there. There is a small excavated necropolis which for the most part is open to crawl around in (which I did) and there is on painted tomb that we made an appointment to go see. We can actually walk into the tomb and see the paintings (which is not common, usually you are on the other side of a glass pane). The paintings show a hippocamp, a 3 headed snake, a man and his boy love, and a ginger haired demon being pulled on a chariot by griffins and lions over a sea of dolphins. It was awesome and there is such detail preserved in the painting. It was awesome and I highly recommend seeing it. The museum is also great, it is so well lit and full of finds (heck they even have things from their excavations as recent as 2007 in the cases, for a point of reference our newest exhibit shows finds from the mid-90’s). After that we returned to Vescovado, napped and such until we left for Boccon di Vino which is an amazing restaurant in Montalcino. It was wonderful meal with great Brunello.

 

Compared to yesterday, today was tame. I did chores and cleaned. Tomorrow I will go into Siena to get some different things I have been meaning to get. But for now I leave you to go relax back at the house.

 

Ciao for now.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2012 Season. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poggio Civitate Week 4

  1. Mike Carroll (uncle) says:

    You missed a really good time at Sebago just so you could play in the dirt!

Leave a Reply

