Poggio Civitate Week 3

Well I am a little late with this one, oh well. I have been busy. Naps, soccer games, and wine drinking. I know such a hard life.

Christina has finally shown up and all is right with the scavi world now. The dig is going well. I have been digging through an uninteresting erosional fill, but other people have been finding cool things like a pit and a ton of metal waste products. Things are at least interesting for other people on the hill.

This weekend was Meat Fest. So Friday Kate, Joe, Christina, and I went to Panzano di Chianti to Dario’s restaurant/ butchers shop to get a steak. We also ate a great dinner too. We sat at a communal table with a German Family whose children were taking Latin, a Dutch couple of whom the girlfriend was a bio teacher, an Argentinean couple and an American couple who just got married and of whom the husband was a producer. He just pitched the show Space Dweebs and I hope it gets aired I think it will be funny.

The next day we spent shopping and preping and Pablo lent us his grill and I spent the evening cooking there. It was a lot of fun. There was lot of meat and veggies for all.

Sunday was intended to be low key but I ended up getting invited along to go to Chiusi and look for tombs. Unfortunately most were locked but there was on that was open. I was the only one brave enough to crawl into the tunnels. I wish I took my headlamp instead of a flashlight and also wore long pants so I could crawl deeper into the tunnels but I still went a pretty long distance.

 

That is all for now. Hopefully I will be better about updating this weekend. Ciao Ciao

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2012 Season. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

