Poggio Civitate- Week 2

Well another week has come and gone, and of course I am late posting this weeks update. But to be fair I had a busy weekend, going to Vulci and eating a sea food lunch in Tarquinia, and then sitting by the pool. All a lot of hard work (okay that was sarcasm in case you missed it).

 

Well last week we had not to much going on in my trench. We figured out that I am digging in an erosional fill. Not a bad thing, but no many interesting finds. Across the road Grayson and Alyssa are finding a lot of cool things, but we aren’t sure why they are there. But Ann and Andi did find the retaining wall for the road (although it is hard to tell if it is intentional or natural).

That is pretty much it for the trench. And this week will be a lot of the same, since we got the same talk from Tony as I did last summer, so that means dig as deep as you can go, even if that means going to hell.

Last weekend was a good one. Friday was the pig roast. Jevon, Alessia, Tancredi, and Pablo’s band performed and they were great. On Saturday I went with Kate, T, and Eoin to see the site of Vulci and eat a great lunch in Tarquinia. I had the mixed fried seafood. Fried food here is so much better than back at home, well at least I don’t feel gross afterwards. Then we had to pick up T and Kate’s new car, Pam, from Rome’s airport. Sunday, some of us were up early to help Gianluca clean up from the debauchery on Friday. But as a thanks he let us use the pool, so I just sat around and read all day. After being lazy, a lot of the scavi got together to watch Spain crush Italy in the Eurocup final that night.

Monday was il Palio in Siena, so we gave the students a half day. Which was great since I stayed in town and relaxed before the game and just strolled across the street to the hotel to watch the race. Onda (the wave) won this year with only one false start.

 

That catches you all up on the exciting world of Vescovado. Hope you are all doing well and staying cool.

Ciao Ciao!

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2012 Season. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

