In Roma

Happy Festa della Repubblica (that is the birth of the Italian Republic according to my Google artwork)! Well after a travel snafu with the airline I have finally made it to Rome. US Airways is slowly becoming my least favorite airline, the have the most hidden fees and some of the more disorganized customer service I have seen. The plane I was to take from Philly to Rome had several mechanical issues that after two hours of sitting in the plane they finally allowed us back into the terminal where we discovered that the plane that should have left at 6:15 wasn’t leaving till 10:45. Then in a message that was not clear at first we learned that the plane to leave at 10:45 was smaller than the original plane and they would need volunteers to give up their seats. I volunteered since they would put me up in a hotel and my travel plans were not that strict. Thankfully I was prepared with an extra set of clothes for the next day, I have always backed a set in my carry on but never have needed to use them. In the end, this delay was good because the people on my Thursday flight were now all grumpy and wouldn’t want to deal with their bitching and moaning for the next 8 hours.

The workers put some of us up in the Sheraton near the airport. Here I met a professorial couple, Jim and Ester (History and German respectively). Jim was clearly the more outgoing of the two, but I learned his interests are west african cultures. They were a very nice couple and gave me someone to talk to while I was waiting in line, although Jim tried to be helpful suggesting I go to another line which pissed of the worker who had just printed all of my paper work.

At the Sheraton I discovered they no longer have individual packets of soap, instead they have installed soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers on the wall. Guess that means no more free bottles of shampoo and such from Sheratons. The next day I returned to the airport where I finished one of the books I had taken with me to read. While eating lunch at a bar I met Kamal, the shipping business man on his was to Athens and Sam, an almost graduate (she has a semester left) who is working as a PR intern in Barcelona this summer.

Finally after hanging out in the hotel and airport all day I boarded my plane. We had another delay taking off (there was a line of planes) Flight was good except I found out that USAirways no longer serves a breakfast, they give you a ‘muffin’ snack and it isn’t even a full muffin, just the top. Bunch of Cheapos.

After taking off there was no real issues. I was in the front of the plane, so I got off first and got through Passport control in under a minute. My bags were already in Rome so I didn’t have to wait at Baggage Claim, and then I got on the Leonardo da Vinci express which took me right into Termini. I found Alessandro’s place with almost no trouble, with my lack of sleep on the plane I did have some issues with left and right. Alessandro lives on Viale di Scalo San Lorenzo. Nice small apartment with a spare bedroom (my room) and some interesting art work. Although it is on the 5th floor and near the train station/highway. If I can, I’ll snap some photos of it.

Today I move to the dig quarters over in Naviagtore and meet up with the rest of the CU crew again, but that is for the afternoon. Ciao for now.

 

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2012 Season and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

