Prague

 

So I am here in Prague enjoying 2 days of “vacation” after digging. And for those who might poh poh my classification of Italy not as a vacation, I would like to know on what vacation you all wield pick axes and shovels, because if that is the case then I need to change my definition. But back to touring around Prague. It is unfortunately been raining here, although that never stopped a Carroll before so Suzanne and I trudged out into the city regardless of the weather. We walked through old town, the jewish ghetto, spent some time on Charles bridge and Kampa island before having lunch by the castle. The beer and goulash was delicious. After that we walked through the castle and around St. Vitus cathedral, then down the hill into old town again. After a nap, because like I said my Italian vacation involved wielding pick axes and has worn me out, we had dinner in east prague at a place were no english menu was to be had, with guide book in hand we figured out what we were ordering, Suzanne had chicken steak and grill potatoes, I had pork schnitzel and a potato salad. We also enjoyed a liter of klaster and several rounds of rummy 500, Sue did kick my butt in the end.

 

Day two in Prague found Sue and I walking all over the city. We first took care of reserving her a spot on the train to Firenze and then after that we headed out to east Prague there we checked out the Olsney cemetery. After that we walked back to the old town to have a late lunch of pork cheek (me) and leg of roasted duck (Sue). Sue and I then walked around old town again, although this time with the sun out before heading up to the National Monument. This is a large equestrian statue of Jan Zizko (although it was being restored when we visited) that is on the top of a steep hill behind our hostel. From the top you have some amazing views of Prague. We then walked through the park which extended back into east Prague, almost back to the Olsney cemetery. For dinner we wondered into Praha 8 to a pub for dinner. We have discovered that Prague is a very good place if you like meat and potatoes, we had, you can guess it, meat and potatoes and another liter of beer. All in all, Prague was a great city, although we both came to the conclusion that you can only spend about 2 days in Prague before you have seen it all, so it was perfect timing that we had decided to just spend 2 days there. It is a really beautiful city with some amazing architecture that is after 312 CE. Well that is all for my travels this year. Hope you enjoyed the entries and I will hopefully get to start this up again come next June. Till then, Ciao.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2011 Season and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

