Poggio Civitate Week 4

Well here we are at the end of week 4, only 2 more weeks before I am back state side. It is hard to believe how fast the summers fly by. This week we only dug for 4 days (because of the three day weekend) but I moved so much soil in my trench. I am still looking for a soil change, although there may be one happening in a corner of my trench only excavating this week will tell how that will go. We are still finding lot of worn pottery, so my working hypothesis is that in ancient times my area was significantly lower than the area to the west and that what ever is happening to the west of my trench eroded into my trench after it was deposited there. Although then there are some really nice pieces which don’t look as eroded, not really sure how to explain those. On Friday Shannon found a really nice piece of frieze plaque. It is the corner of the seated figure frieze. As soon as it is conserved I will post a picture but right now it needs some cleaning. Other than that not much else is being found besides worn terracotta.

 

The weather here has also been unseasonably cold. On Wednesday I worn my orange safety pants up on site it was so cool. Hopefully it stays cool, but the rain stays away. Usually cool weather here is accompanied by rain.

 

Today was the morning of Legendary Brunch. It is a Scavi tradition to have a huge breakfast together after a late night of archaeological debauchery. Joe, Christina, Taylor, and I made a spread which included french toast, stuffed french toast, potatoes, Joe’s grandpa’s breakfast casserole, capresse salad, a salami and cheese platter, and fried potato patties. The staff devoured most of the food and quickly went into food coma. I skipped the nap and went to the magazzino to update my trench book and count pottery. I was also catching up on some reading there too.

 

But my weekend was not all work, Saturday I went into Siena with Kate, Theresa, and Chris. We went to Frederico’s to get wine (I got a rosso) and I did some shopping while they had lunch. It was a perfect day to just walk around the city. The high was about 65 F and there was a light breeze. I was able to walk around in the afternoon without sweating and for some reason most of the crowds were not around so it was relatively quiet in the city.

 

Well I think that is all I have for now. I will be sure to keep you all posted on my trench. Ciao Ciao.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2011 Season and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

