Vescovado Week 2

It is hard to believe that I have been in Vescovado for 2 weeks now.  We have not done any digging yet, but that will change tomorrow since we start work on the hill.  Although I have been up there for the last week working anyway.  I had an entire week to set up the trenches on the hill.  It was great, nice relaxing and not rushed.  But that leads to short posts since it is a very repetitive action.  Set up transit, measure out a nail, move transit, repeat.  Most of the people were in the Mag working on different publication projects, I helped a little there doing some data entry, but most of my time was on the hill.

On Friday however I did get to clear a path between two important markers on the hill that has been overgrown recently so that was super helpful.

This weekend I mostly hung around Vescovado.  I did get to go to the Olive Garden test kitchen for lunch on Saturday.  It was a weird experience, it was a Tuscan restaurant, but with more expensive dishes, and not as much variety.  Also no endless bread sticks. It is in a beautiful bed and breakfast and the views around the garden.  Then today, Sunday I went to Buonconvento to see the Museum there (it is down the road and I have never gone in the 4 years I have been coming here).  It was small, took a half hour, and had no medieval pottery in it (which was the reason for going).  But I did get caffe and caramel gelato afterwards.

That is about it for this week, but with digging starting I will have more to report soon.  Till then, ciao.

 

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2011 Season. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

