Poggio Civitate Week 1

So having dug at Poggio Civitate for 4 years before and now having done another Italian dig I was really not surprised to hear upon my arrival that plans have changed yet again for our season.  So we were going to dig in town but now that has changed and we will be working on the hill (but not yet).

For the first 2 weeks we will be working on different projects.  I am working with a few different projects.  My main project that I am in charge of doing is setting up baselines on the hill that we will then use to layout our trenches.  You can think of it like I am marking the actual points of a grid that we have put on the state plan.  So on Thursday and Friday of last week I went up for a half day to work and put down a few different points.

My other project is to help manage the database of finger prints for a project on finding unique individual workers at our site.  That one is still getting going so I have less to work on with them.  I am also helping with my sigla project that I had started last summer, but Brooke is doing most of the work with it.

So hopefully this week things start to pick up here.  The 1st years have been slowly introduced to the site and area (slower than most years), but this next week they are all doing work with different projects.

Yesterday was the Palio horse race.  While I didn’t go in and see the race itself, I was in Siena with Sara (from the VMax Dig) and showed her around.  We saw the Campo and Duomo and some different small contrada churches.  We drank coffee and had a very good relaxing lunch.  It was during lunch that we saw the Oca (goose) contrada bless their horse and rider.  This was cool since I had never seen one happen (even just from the outside) and Oca won this year after the Bruco rider fell. Although I had returned to Vescovado to watch the actual race, but being in Siena for preparations was cool.

Since today is Sunday and there is nothing to do but work and sleep in this town I am hoping to post more pictures later today (that is unless I take a nap).

Hope you all enjoyed the post.  Ciao Ciao.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2011 Season and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poggio Civitate Week 1

  1. Siobhan says:

    Thanks for posting, Andy! I’m dying over here in the heat of Ontario- which is a lot like the heat of Murlo but humid and more allergy ridden – wishing I was back with everyone digging. I hope you guys have a fantastic season and I look forward to reading more

Leave a Reply

