Frutta Italiana

I love the Italy for many reasons, but one of the best reasons is the fresh fruit and vegetables. The Italians let their fruit ripen on the plant longer, this gives them such amazing flavor and juiciness. Although it does cut down on how long you can store them, but it works with how the Italians shop. Most Italians get food for only a few days at most, the are constantly picking up groceries (or at least the Italians I see in Murlo are). So this allows them to get the best fruit and only as much as they need at the time. The Italian way of shopping is so much better than how we do it in the United States, I think it cuts down on wasted rotten food. Also my time in Italy has clearly influenced my way of shopping. When I am in Boulder I will go to 3 (or 4) different stores to get different items which is how the Italians do it. There is a fruit stand right down the road from me and that is where I get all of my fruits and vegetables, they are better tasting (and cheaper).

Well I hope you enjoyed this lovely diversion from all things archaeological. Next post Swedes in Rome!

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2011 Season. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

