When an Archaeologist is left in Rome.

It always seems that where and how I live is a big question hence my mentions early about the amenities and then the issues. You will be happy to know that the hot water is becoming more consistent, and as long as you don’t expect to be able to flush and take a shower within 10 minutes of one another then you can keep the water pressure in the tank. We also found out that the well we had been drinking from is no longer controlled, so we should drink bottled water….after we had been drinking from it for 2 days. Ah the joys of Barbara, who I should tell you all about. Barbara owns the house we are living in but is very scattered brained and knows next to no English. So we communicate through a series of half words, gestures and confused looks. But she is very nice and wants to help us out.

Also my commute is getting better. On Friday (10th) we caught the bus and were early to meet Diane to hear the status of the site devegitation work. Which might be done on Monday (hopefully). But then what do you do with a bunch of classics students who are living just on the Via Appia? Well you let them loose in the city of Rome. We have been touring around to all the major classical sites in Rome.

As you saw on the 8th we did the Fora and Colosseum and monuments around that area. On the 9th we returned to Rome’s center to hit up the Capitoline Museums. They were so much cooler that I have taken a year of graduate courses. I found all the statues that I missed the other times I had been there (like the man holding busts, or all the Marcus Aurelii). And of course I finally knew to look for the Capitoline Venus there this time but she is on loan to the National Gallery in DC, figures. BUT there was a travelling exhibit of portraits. I got see the Berlin Caesar, and the Louvre Death Mask head, and a some others, although as with all travelling exhibits there was no photos allowed so I could only sneak a few blurry shots. But after walking around the Capitoline Museum we went to the Forum Boarium and saw the Arch of the Argentari and then head home to enjoy many liters of wine that night.

On the 10th we still could not work so we headed to the Vatican Museum… I missed so much of it when I went back in 2003. We saw the Claudius as Jupiter, the sarcophagus of Helena I, the Augustus Primaporta, the column base of Antonius Pius, and so much. As we kept saying the Vatican stole a lot of cool things. That was all we had time for, when we were done the line for St. Peter’s Basilica was too long so we just headed home (although I took a short detour to post my previously written entries). Then we just had fruit, bread, and cheese for dinner at the girls room (it is too much credit to call it an apartment).

On the 11th we headed to the coast to see Ostia. This had been my favorite stop when I came to Italy in 2003 and 2 years ago I tired to see it but we got there as the gates closed so I was super excited to see it again. We spent the entire day there walking around, taking pictures, finding rooms tucked away in obscure corners. There were times when we had to forge our own paths to ruins through fields of grass since no one else had been there. I saw so much but would love to spend more time there.

Tomorrow is Sunday and I am forging out on my own to hopefully get some WiFi to work and also find a few obscure ruins in Eastern Rome. The girls and I will meet up later to get some dinner and have an early night. And if everything goes well we will be cleaning and trimming the baulk walls on Monday. That is all for now. Ciao Ciao.

PS.  Got some new images posted:

https://picasaweb.google.com/110281652415321079081/Italy2011

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2011 Season and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

