Travel

Well after a near mishap almost forgetting my book in Logan the flight to Montreal was uneventful. Tried to look for Habitat 67 on the St. Lawrence but alas I couldn’t find it, must have been on the wrong side of the plane (one summer I will stop these crazy European travels and actually kayak there).  Also Montreal airport was the fastest I have ever gone through customs, it was so refreshing.

The second leg of the journey was uneventful as well. Watched the King’s Speech and talked with a Montreal Native who has traveled a lot in his life. Made it into Rome and actually found everyone (I had resigned myself to having to make it to the Via Appia on my own (and through a more likely convoluted way. Although finding the bus stop for the 218 did lead to some wandering about San Giovanni, but don’t worry we made it. The girls are living on the Via Appia Antica in a small room/apartment of Vera Mora. They have only a 15 minute walk at most to the site. Cam and I are in an entire apartment but we have an 8 minute walk, a 5 minute bus ride then a 15 minute walk to the site…..BUT we are living in a sweet villa with huge beds, our own baths (with lips to separate the shower from the rest of the bathroom), working AC, and a lovely patio. Only the coming weeks can tell if the commute is worth living in a villa. Our house is also just up the road from the supermarket, tabacchi, and a fruit stand and of course I stopped into the supermarket to get my first ACE of the season. For those who don’t know ACE is a fruit juice that is carrot, lemon, and orange juice combined into one delicious drink. Oh and in typical Italian Archeology Dig fashion, my hot water was not working for most of my shower (it did turn on in the end). After having a quick bit to eat Cam, Sarah, Laureen, Brit and I took a walk down the Via Appia Antica to look at some of the monuments down that end of the Appia. You can check out my pictures to see what we saw.

Tomorrow we start work, heres hoping that I wake from this catatonic sleep I am about to enter. Ciao

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2011 Season and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

