2011 Season just around the corner

So I will be leaving in a month to dig again in Italy, but I will be traveling 1st around Colorado to kayak (I know big surprise) and then across country to go home/ visit friends who live outside of the New England area.  What this means is I may or may not have time for another post before I get to Rome and I want to make sure I have plenty of time to let my family and friends know about this (but really this is to let my mom and aunts know what I am up to, they worry as mom and aunts are wont to do).

This summer I am going on two digs (as I mentioned in my about section, which I may have just found).  The first dig is for June, I will be at the Villa Maxentius with CU.  Diane Conlin is doing a study season there and I get to work with her, other grad students and Italians.  It is great because I need more experience beyond an early Etruscan site and this is the other end of the spectrum.

Then for July I am going back to Poggio Civitate.  This will be season #5 for me, I don’t know what we are doing yet but I hope to find out soon.  As I was working on this draft I got the email about where we are digging. This one will be a regular field school so there will be lots of teaching, which excites me since I didn’t get to teach this year.  We will be digging in the town of Vescovado.  The town is doing construction and came across remains and we need to investigate so that they can finish the work.  I now have a list of trench books I need to read (understand that I am super excited to have summer reading again!).

I leave Colorado in 2 days and then I am driving across country and packing to leave, so I know that my next blog post will be sometime in Italy.  I will be sure to send out a message once that happens, but then it will be up to you to follow me.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2011 Season and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2011 Season just around the corner

  1. Jo Ann Laliberte says:

    Andrew…so happy to be able to hear all about your adventures this summer…so I don’t have to keep asking your mom! Best of luck with the travels and the experiences. I love knowing that you are living your life’s dharma…your life’s purpose. Always stay present and breathe. 🙂 Be Safe…namaste, Jo Ann

Leave a Reply

