Roma and the Return

So I did promise to write one more time if I could, and I am taking time today in between packing and such to take care of it.  If it seems disjointed that is because as I write this I am breaking to clean up, or pack for my big move.

The last few days in Vescovado went surprisingly well.  On Friday all the trench books were finished. Ann and I were the last two to get them done.  Also on Friday everyone who was working on the Workshop Monograph meet and we handed in/ updated our different sections.  So while we many not have found a lot this summer, we are leaving feeling very accomplished since Tony has almost 300 pages of a book written.  Friday night we had staff dinner, it was mellower this year since it was right after student dinner and no one had fully recovered, except maybe Chris and Jason.

Saturday was dismantle day/ Boun Viaggio Day.  I spent the morning wishing people good trips and cleaning up the holocaust of beer, wine and liquor bottles from the previous night.  I then went to lunch in Montepulciano at il Grotto.  Amazing atmosphere and the food was delicious. I had the quail in honey sauce, amazing.  Of course while driving there I feel asleep in the car so as they were parking Theresa slams on the brakes and everyone starts screaming we killed it.  I of course wake up and am thoroughly confused, I thought that we had killed a cat.

Dinner that night was over in Ville di Corsano at the restaurant that Donatello (previous owner of Bar Mafalda.  Mafalda is the girl on my Scavi Drinking team shirts).  There I enjoyed a calzone.

The next day I helped finish cleaning up the dinning room and was given a ride into Siena to catch the next train to Rome.  Julian and I traveled together.  That night all the staff who were in Rome meet up for one last big dinner in this little alleyway restaurant in Trastevere that Alyssa knew about.  That night I learned that I am not allowed to have my camera out when walking home, I stop to much and take too many blurry photos.

On Monday I woke early and walked and metroed all over the city.  I started at the Baths of Caracalla, then I walked down to where the Appian Way started and walked along the Aurelian Walls, I then went to the Church of the Santi Giovanni e Paolo and saw the Roman house foundations underneath.  I then walked over the Ciampo di Fiori and meet up with Andi, Josh, Julian and Christina.  From there we went a hunting for food and gifts.  We ended up by the Victor Emmanuel Park and had Fast Indian.  We Tramed it over to Spagna walked down to Ciampo di Fiori and meet up for drinks with the remaining staff.  Then Josh, Andi, Christina and I had avventura finding the Hard Rock cafe.

After that I said my ciao ciaos and walked back to my hotel (with my camera in my bag, so it only took me a half hour).  Then next day after experiencing terminal 5 in Rome (which is a very poorly designed place) and just making my flight I returned home.

Well that I think is it for this year.  I enjoyed it a lot and now that I have this set up I will be all ready for next year. Thanks for sticking with me.  Ciao Ciao

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2012 Season. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

