Week 6: The End

Ciao Tutti,

So I have come to the end again. This time I did not have to spend
copious amounts of time in the Mag finishing everything. Could be the
fact that my trench did not produce a lot. This year we have only 93
cataloged finds (small fries when you see what we have pulled up in
the past). I have finished my trench book and now am free as a bird.
Staff dinner is in an hour and then tomorrow a bunch of the staff are
going to Rome. I may join them depending on the hotel rooms. If not
then I will definitely be in Rome on Sunday.

Not much happened during the week. On Wednesday is lieu of the
regular Italian vs. American soccer game we held a 6 on 6 Staff vs.
Students game. Staff had a slim team (only 2 subs compared to the
students 8 subs) but we won 3 to 2 in Overtime. Chris scored the
winning goal. Because all the trenches were finished on Wednesday we
were able to back fill a day early so the students did that yesterday.
After stringing up my stratigraphy I went down to the Mag to work.
Student dinner was last night as well and in true Scavi fashion most
of the people had a hard time waking up this morning.

Sorry there is not much else to report. Depending on how packing and
such go back in Franklin I will try to get out an email about Rome.
We shall see. If not I hope you have enjoyed my emails (only took me
4 years of coming here to think of this).

Ciao for now.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at two different sites. One I have worked at for 7 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended.
This entry was posted in 2010 Season and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

