Week 5

Ciao Ciao,

So it is amazing how digging for 11 days straight warps your sense of
time. It is week 5 already and I am going to be wrapping everything
up soon. There has been a little more traveling in my life since we
stopped digging on Aguzzo. Last Friday, the students had to go to the
Florence Archaeology museum, I tagged along and heard Tony give talks
about different items in the museum. It was nice to get back there
since I have not been since 2007.

After that I ditched everyone and went to Fiesole. This is the
original Etruscan settlement of Florence, the town of Florence didn’t
exist till Julius Caesar set up a colony (this is 600 + years after
the Etruscans were there. Fiesole now is in the hills just outside of
Florence, so I hoped on a bus, checked out the site and museum. It is
a nice quiet place, they have a Roman bath house and theater, as well
as an Etruscan Temple. The museum was small, but there was some cool
finds similar to things from Poggio Civitate, which for me is always
fun to find.

On Saturday the staff held MeatFest. MeatFest arose from a severe
lack of meat in our diets last year (the cook wasn’t that great).
This year the cook has been awesome and we have not been lacking in
anything, so MeatFest was more of a time just for everyone to grill
and drink together. I made a barbecue sauce (although like my dad, if
you asked me to recreate it I couldn’t). We had chicken, ribs,
sausage, beef kabobs, octopus, fried smelt, and veggie kabobs. The
staff relaxed, ate and drank. It was nice, especially after the fast
pace we were going at the previous 2 weeks.

The work week was weird. I am back in CA 65 finding Iron age (8th
century BC) and Orientalizing (7th century BC) material. However
Italy has some how changed into New England and the weather here is
being moody. It rained Tuesday, Thursday and Today. Because of all
the rain I was not able to dig today. Instead I worked on back
filling other trenches that were closed and done. We got through 5 of
them which hopefully will make the end of the year easier. I also
gave an impromptu tour to a group of Italian children. They are in a
summer camp by Siena and were going on a hike over our hill. Their
leader asked if someone could give a tour, and since I was just back
filling I did. I am pretty sure the kids were making fun of my
accent. I didn’t give the whole tour in Italian (the leader
translated), but when I could I threw in an Italian work here or
there. It was fun but I think if I could speak Italian I would have
been better. I had several good comparisons that I don’t think the
leader translated correctly. Oh well.

The end is coming fast and looks like this weekend will be another one
with not much traveling going on since I have work in the mag to get
done. I hope to go to Siena tomorrow for the afternoon, we shall see.

I hope everyone is doing well. I will talk to you all later.

Ciao

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2010 Season and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

