Week 4

Well,

I am bummed that this will not be a more exciting email, but alas that is the way archaeology goes from time to time. So in my last update I mentioned that I had worked through the weekend and will be working till the 25th. Well that isn’t true anymore, today we back filled the
4 trenches we had started. These were trenches on Poggio Aguzzo, which is the necropolis of Poggio Civitate. That is right we were looking for tombs. To bad all we learned is that the inhabitants of the site did not bury their dead on the north slope. We did discover some interesting terracing walls but we can’t tell when they were made (they don’t insert large blocks with dates on them into their building like we do). So no tombs but it was great to finally be able to dig on Poggio Aguzzo.

The reason for the secrecy last week was just in case we found something we did not want word getting back to tomb raiders who would screw up the archaeological record (and I know that word gets passed around in weird ways). It is still something we are not going to advertise where it is (hence no GPS coordinates), but now that we are done I feel better about letting you all know what I had been seeking for the last few days.

Now I have a few days off and am going to Florence tomorrow. I hope to visit the town of Fiesole and then relax for a day or so. My trench by in the usual area of excavation still has interesting things to excavate so I am excited for that.

Sorry this update is so short. When all you have done for 11 days is eat, drink lots of water, sleep and dig there is not much to report. Hopefully there will be more next Friday.

Ciao

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2010 Season and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

