Week 3 (or maybe 4) they are starting to blend

Well Hello again,

Sorry for the delay, I have been working since last Monday and this
has been the first free moment I have had. Actually I have to be on
site at 10:00 this morning, so I wont be as long with this weekly
update. And also while I am on the topic on work schedules, I will be
working till next Sunday straight, so don’t expect a weekly update
till after then.

Now you might be asking, “Andrew weren’t you suppose to get weekends
off?” And my response is this, when Poggio Civitate is a field
school, yes we get the weekends off. However since last Tuesday
evening the field school part of our description has been put on hold,
because last Tuesday evening we were given permission to dig on a part
of the hill that we have never dug on before (but only 11 days to do
it in). So the staff has been going full tilt since then.

I know the chances of this are highly unlikely but I am going to hold
off on telling exactly what I am digging and where, just in case that
information gets somehow to the wrong ears. On the 25th (or maybe
26th since sleep will be nice), I will give you full details. Just
know this, what I am doing could be really cool and is an awesome
opportunity for me.

I am doing well otherwise. My trench (the one from the start of the
season), was producing a lot of metal finds (we had 2 huge ancient
iron nails and a lot of slag). So Tony is still hopeful that it will
reveal a smelting feature. I have a rough circle of rocks in my
trench that when I return to digging in CA 65 (my trench designation)
I will remove and look under them.

Other than that my life has mostly been dig in the new area, eat,
sleep, and repeat. I am second in command of the trench I am in. We
only have opened 4 trenches in the area so the 4 senior people are the
primary Trench masters, and then the next 4 senior people (myself
include in that number) are the secondary trench masters. This is so
we can work in shifts next week and keep digging from 7-6 but not have
the trench masters/ students burn out. Although this weekend I am in
charge of my trench since Kate had plans that could not be changed.

Well that is all I have for now. Hopefully my next update will be one
full of joy. But we shall see. Till then, Ciao.

About handyatmurlo

I am a Latin teacher at Regis Jesuit High School. I earned my MA at CU Boulder and my BA at UMass Amherst. I have spent my summers working in Italy as an archaeologist at three different sites. One I have worked at for 10 years at Poggio Civitate at Vescovado di Murlo. I have worked at the Villa of Maxentius in Rome for 2 years, before the project ended. I also spent 2 summers at the FSU excavations in Cosa.
This entry was posted in 2010 Season and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

